Report of the Dance Rules Committee to the 29th IGRA Annual Convention

The Dance Committee met at 9:00 am Friday, November 15, 2013 with 12 associations and 8 other guests present. The Dance Coordinator presented the 2014 dance format and dances for Division IV first time, Division III beginner, Division II intermediate, and Division I advanced and the Division 1 advanced music announced.

The dance contest will be on Saturday, January 18, 2014 at 7 pm at University. There will be classes during University for the line dances and competition 2-step and competition waltz. All step sheets and instructional videos for line dances will be on the IGRA Web site under dance along with application and dance rules.

The committee then discussed ways to energize dance and get more participation. We talked about contacting IGRA associations and getting one dance contact for each association. We discussed doing dance events in local associations to promote dance and invite dance teams and dance exhibitions at local rodeos for entertainment. We also talked about doing social media such as doing a Facebook page and other chat dance sites to get dance participation. TGRA member Ben Ramirez has volunteered to take on contacting associations and finding a dance contact at city and state bars and venues such as instructors and teachers across the circuit and getting these people to promote dance, share new ideas, and involve additional dance contacts. We also got email addresses from all associations and guests present to help spread the word and get the dance contacts involved. We asked associations to go back and promote IGRA dance and bring new ideas back to the committee throughout the coming year. We hope that by doing this we can grow dance, get more associations involved and possibly get new members from the dance world to get involved with our rodeos.

The Dance Committee adjourned at 9:35 am.

Respectfully submitted, Wade Earp Dance Contest Coordinator

Attendees

Gene Fraikes	IGRA	Wade Earp	IGRA
Lorry King	NGRA	Kevin McSweeny	AGRA
Todd Garrett	FGRA	Judy Davidson	ARGRA
Robin Cagle	TGRA	Ray Ostmann	GWGRA
Ed Hamilton	GSGRA	Ronda Yahn	TGRA
Ben Ramirez	TGRA	Bruce Casey	GSGRA
Ryan McPherson	NGRA	Janine Pardee	SGRA
Joshua Robeson	IAGRA	Ricky Walker	GSGRA
Keith Swanson	CGRA	Frank Thompson	OGRA