## Report from the Rodeo Rules Committee to the 26<sup>th</sup> Annual IGRA Convention

Saturday November 14<sup>th</sup>, 2010

The Rodeo Rules Committee met on Friday November 12<sup>th</sup>, 2010 from 9:00 am until 3:15 pm. A total of 39 people attended the meeting representing 19 associations.

A list of attendees is attached to this report. We would like to thank HSRA for their hospitality and the Rodeo Rules Committee members for their input, assistance, and perseverance. Thank you to Ty Teigen for her valuable assistance as Co–Chair.

We would like to thank the committee attendees for their hard work. The committee chairs developed and implemented the utilization of association paddles used to vote on the proposals. We would like to thank Janie Van Santen for her assistance with the production of these "paddles." We would also like the extend our sincerest gratitude to Frank Harrell for his assistance with the new Web-based process that helped us remove our reliance and waste on paper and to make the Rodeo Rules Committee review run efficiently.

The committee reviewed all 2010 filed protests;19 protests were filed during the 2010 rodeo year. These were reviewed to help identify opportunities to make changes to existing rules if necessary to avoid future situations. Five of the protests resulted in a change to the original decision. The committee chairs recommend that all committees review these on an annual basis for identification of training opportunities. The protests were also provided at the Judges Committee request for their review.

	#	of
Event	Protests	Oi
CROF	1	
Break-		
Away	3	
Team		
Roping	3	
Chute Dog	3	
Barrel Race	3	
Pole		
Bending	2	
Wild Drag	2	
Steer Deco	2	

The committee reviewed all 2010 Rodeo Review Board meeting minutes.

- Committee noted the following:
  - 1. Several association contracts with stock contractor did not have the required Rodeo Rule VII included (7 rodeos).
  - 2. Stock contractor liability insurance policy missing or not in effect (5).
  - 3. Several stock contractor liability insurance policies missing the following:
    - Naming IGRA as additional insured,
    - Naming host association as additional insured,
    - Were not verified per the current rule by the Rodeo Director, and
    - Stock contractor liability contract was not valid for said rodeo (name and effective dates). Due to the above, the Rodeo Rules Co–Chairs worked with Kaliff Insurance and Tommy Channel on a proposed rule change.
  - 4. One issue where the 2009 rodeo checklist was used (S/B 2010).
  - 5. What appear to be variances granted at rodeos by the Trustees present.
  - 6. One reported incident of stock contractor "excessive hot-shotting" of a trapped animal.
  - 7. Several noted instances where the new contestant meeting was not "posted" but stated they informed the new contestants of the meeting place and time.
  - 8. Situations of inappropriate stock being allowed to be used in events, even when the Trustees were notified. Bulls being used in Team Roping, heifer and steers mixed in Chute Dogging and camp events.

We then reviewed 48 proposed rodeo rule changes submitted to the committee chairs according to the bylaws. The committee then voted and approved to review any "late proposals." The committee recommends adoption of these proposals.

We would like to report that at this time, the Rodeo Rules Committee Co-Chairs have reviewed each area of the Rodeo Rulebook and with the submission of the speed event editorial changes at this convention, has completed review of all areas of the Rodeo Rulebook for clarification and re-organization.

Respectfully submitted,
Ty Teigen & Chuck Browning
Rodeo Rules Committee Co-Chairs

## 2010 IGRA Convention – Rodeo Rules Committee Attendees

AGRA George Immerso
AGRA Dan Iverson
ARGRA Judy Munson
ARGRA Rob Summers
ARGRA Janie Van Santen
DSRA Lisa Smith

ASGRA Beth Brockelman
ASGRA Mike Sanders
CGRA John Beck

CGRA Tommy Channel
CGRA Robert Thurtell
CGRA Ty Teigen

**Chuck Browning FGRA FGRA** Mitch Peterson Bobby Fender **FGRA** NGRA Guy Puglisi NGRA Lorry King NGRA **Brian Rogers** Laura Scott NGRA NGRA Shaun Sewell Chad Billings **SMRA** Ed Morgan **GSGRA** Popper Dubray **GSGRA GSGRA** Scotty Shadix **GSGRA** Jabby Lowe

SCCGRA Sammy Van Galder SCCGRA Brian Lindlay SCCGRA Joe Rodriguez

Kelly Gilliland

MGRA Jim Lilly

**GSGRA** 

ILGRA Debbie Cowgur ILGRA Rod Kline

GWGRA Andy Struckhoff

PNWGRA Lester Liu NMGRA Jeff Lowe NMGRA Kelly Peebles TGRA Jody Harvey TGRA Frank Mazzo RRRA Jay Beck

LGRA Gerald McMahon

IAGRA Dave Elliott