## Report of the Judges Committee To the 25<sup>th</sup> Annual IGRA Convention

## Saturday, November 14, 2009

The Judges Committee met on Friday, November 13, 2009 from 10:45 am until 12:15 pm. A total of 8 persons attended the meeting, 6 of whom were voting members. A list of attendees is attached to this report. I want to thank the members of the committee for their input and help to complete the business of the committee.

Jorge Ramirez, the Chair, reported on the status of the Judges for 2010. At the start of 2009 there were 9 certified Judges: Ashley Anderson-Buick, Frank Elam, Amy Griffin, Rick Jones, Michael Lentz, Jack Morgan, Kyle Putman, Jorge Ramirez, Dee Zuspann. Only 8 of the 9 applied for recertification, with Ashley choosing to retire.

During the year, five students completed the Judges student program. Gene Fraikes was certified as a Rookie Judge and completed the requirements to be elevated to full Judge status. Jim Gant and Anthony Ovaldson were certified as Rookie Judges and made progress towards reaching full Judge status. Roger Courtemanche was certified as a Rookie Judge, but has yet to work a rodeo as a Judge.

Gene was considered a full Judge for recertification purposes and along with the other 8, was a part of the test program for new recertification process being presented in another report. They submitted self-evaluations, and were subject to an Annual Evaluation, which was presented to the trustees. The trustees approved recertification of all 9.

The other 3 were recertified as Rookie Judges. Finally, Kris Baldwin completed the requirements for and was certified as a Rookie Judge here in Toronto.

The committee considered one proposal that was presented during the meeting to better define and delineate a step-wise progression of officials through the judges program. The proposal seeks to enhance the training and development opportunities of new judges. It specifies limitations put on new judges as well as responsibilities of the more senior judges. That proposal was passed and is attached to this report. The committee recommends adoption of this proposal.

Jorge Ramirez Chairman, IGRA Judges Committee

## Report of the Judges Committee To the 25<sup>th</sup> Annual IGRA Convention

## Judges Committee Attendance List

Name	Association	Voting
Jorge Ramirez Gene Fraikes Jeff Barr Elizabeth Anderson C D Susser Kevin Boyer Dan Iverson Michael Lentz	Chair TGRA SCCGRA GSGRA CGRA ARGRA AGRA ASGRA	X X X X X