Dance Committee Meeting Friday November 13, 2009

Attendees: Kimberly Kay (CGRA-voting), Michael Lackey (TGRA-voting), Lorry King (NGRA-voting), Eric Swafford (MIGRA-voting), Jim Sparks (GWGRA-voting), Lonni La Bel (ASGRA-voting), Mark Larson (NSGRA-voting).

The 2010 IGRA Dance Competition and classes will be held at IGRA University on January 15-16, 2010. The line dances for the 2010 competition have been posted on the IGRA website.

It was agreed that there would be some form of public recognition of the contributions of Tyler Goolsby to the IGRA dance program at the IGRA University 2010 Dance Competition.

Mark Larson requested that Ernie email him the information on cost breakdown for the dance competition.

Kimberly Kay raised the question as to why we did not provide buckles instead of trophies to the winners of the individual line dance competition. Lorry explained how the overall Dance Program was originally developed. The group agreed that for consistency with the rest of IGRA's competition awards we would prefer to award buckles. Kimberly Kay moved to change the Dance Competition General Rules (Section 3B) to reflect a buckle award instead of a trophy for the Individual Line Dance category; Lorry King seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously. Ernie Bowers will take the proposal to the Bylaws Committee.

Lorry King moved to change the Dance Competition General Rules (Section 5E Part 4) to reflect a change in the BPM requirements from 180-206 to 160-200 for the couples two-step; Eric Swafford seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously. Ernie Bowers will take the proposal to the Bylaws Committee.

There was considerable discussion regarding how to ensure that music provided by the dancers/instructors would be in a format compatible with the available equipment, based on the continuous changes in technology.

Lorry King moved to change the Dance Competition General Rules (Section 5G Part 1) to reflect that music should be in MP3 or CD/CDR format; Kimberly Kay seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously. Ernie Bowers will take the proposal to the Bylaws Committee.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:30pm.